Postgraduate AIO/OIO School 2020


  • Target group:

    Whether your research involves theme 1 (high energy) or theme 2 (condensed matter) you may choose both schools to attend. For example, in your first year of employment you may attend the THEP school and in the second year the SPTCM school. Postdocs, advanced Master’s students, as well as graduate students from foreign countries are also welcome.

  • Lecturers:

    week 1 (16-22 March 2020):

    Chris Hooley (St. Andrews) – Strongly Correlated Quantum Systems
    Bela Mulder (UvA) – Theory of Biomolecular Matter
    Carlo Beenakker (UL) – Random-matrix theory of Majorana fermions and topological superconductors
    Frank Smallenburg (Orsay) – When liquids misbehave

    Evening speakers:
    Elisa Chisari (UU) – Cosmology
    Julia Cramer (UL) – Science communication

  • Organizers:

    Laura Filion (UU)
    tel.: +31 (0)30 253 3519

    Stefano Polla (UL)

    Dirk Schuricht (UU)
    tel.: +31 (0)30 253 2805

    Jasper van Wezel (UvA)
    tel.: +31 (0)20 5255746

    Bureau DRSTP:
    M.E.T. Hilkens(Secretary)
    tel.: +31 (0)30 253 5928

    Drs. J.M. van Zee (Managing Director)
    tel.: +31 (0)30 253 7549

  • Registration:

    Registration fee: € 750,–
    Registration deadline: 1 February 2020

    * Be aware that if you fill in the form correctly you should immediately receive a confirmation email. If not, then something went wrong and you will have to submit the form again. All fields must be filled in.

    The registration fee includes a double room for six nights and all meals. Students are expected to share a room.

    You will receive a final confirmation and further information after the registration closing date.
    An invoice will be sent to your institute.

    Students must attend the full seven days.

  • Venue:

    Badhotel Callantsoog
    Abbestederweg 26
    1759 NB Callantsoog
    +31 (0)224 – 58 22 22